Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Shay Lane Primary School


A very warm welcome!


This web page is the place where we will keep you updated on our school experience, learning and other exciting developments.


At Shay Lane Primary School, our Foundation Stage Unit is made up of Nursery and Reception Class.

The Foundation Stage is important in its own right; the curriculum for the Early Years Foundation Stage is designed to meet the diverse needs of all children, enabling most to achieve the Early Learning Goals and, where appropriate, go beyond.  Children aged three to five constantly encounter new experiences and seek to understand them, extending their skills, developing confidence and building on what they already know.  Children deepen their understanding through playing, talking, observing, planning, questioning, experimenting, testing, repeating, reflecting, and responding to adults and to each other. Structured and well-planned play, both indoors and outdoors, is the key to learning with enjoyment and challenge. At Shay Lane we strive to provide the best possible start to your child’s school life. 


The Foundation Stage Curriculum is arranged in seven areas of learning:

Three prime areas

Personal social and emotional development;

Communication and language

Physical Development

Four specific areas



Understanding the world

Expressive art and design


We also teach phonics using the Letters and Sounds phases and the Read, Write, Inc scheme by Ruth Miskin.



Our Outdoor Learning

We have really settled into our wonderful Nursery class. We are enjoying our learning inside and outside the classroom. Check out some pictures of us in our outdoor environment.



This half term we have been learning all about ourselves. We have been getting to know each other and talking about what makes us special. We have also been learning about different body parts and we had lots of fun drawing around our friends and adding labels.

Our Gruffalo Hunt

The children in Nursery have enjoyed reading the story of The Gruffalo. We have sequenced the story and talked about the characters. We even had a visit from the Little Brown Mouse who took us on a Gruffalo Hunt!

Shape and Pattern 

As part of part of our Maths work, we have been investigating different shapes and patterns. We went on a shape hunt around school and in our outside environment. We could find lots of rectangles but found it tricky to spot triangles. The Nursery team can name different shapes and use them to create a repeating pattern. Check out some of our shape and pattern work…

Fantastic Phonics

In Nursery we are really enjoying our phonic sessions. We are learning new letter sounds, finding the letters in words and even having a go at writing them! We are also learning the letters in our names and how to form them correctly.  Please pop into class and ask if you would like any letter formation sheets to work on at home.

Nursery went spotty for Children in Need

Nursery had a super time raising money for Children in Need. We got dressed up in spots and took part in some special Children in Need activities. There were even some prizes from Mr Wright for our best dressed children!