Shay Lane Primary School

Kettlethorpe Collaborative Partnership

The Kettlethorpe Collaborative Partnership (KCP) was established to further develop school to school working/support and to develop teaching and leadership capacity in order to enhance pupil learning and outcomes at all levels.

Following a period of open and transparent discussion across the Kettlethorpe Pyramid of Schools,, the following schools were given approval by their Governing Bodies to work in a more formal manner through the formation of a joint committee:

·         Crigglestone Nursery and Castle Children’s Centre  

·         Dane Royd Junior and Infant School  

·         Hendal Primary Junior and Infant School  

·         Kettlethorpe High School  

·         Mackie Hill Junior and Infant School  

Following the success of the KCP a further school has joined our partnership, external to the Kettlethorpe Pyramid of Schools.


·         Shay Lane Primary School

The Joint Committee membership involves representation from each of the schools through their Chair of Governors and also their Headteacher. The quorum of the joint committee is three and the committee will elect its own Chair. The meetings are clerked by one of the membership schools and is rotated on an annual basis.

As a school, we think it is vital to work in partnership with other local schools – the Kettlethorpe Collaborative Partnership offers us the opportunity to do so in a more formal way. Every school has something to offer – this is the foundation on which the KCP has been built – sharing good practice for the benefit of everyone.

School's within the KCP employing ECTs provide shared training opportunities as well as the opportunity to visit each other's schools.